Elliott Devocious “E.D.” Mancill, Alabama

Elliott Devocious Mancill, age 96, 1986, Alabama

Birth:  Sep. 14, 1889

Herbert
Conecuh County
Alabama, USA

Death:  Jan., 1988
Mobile
Mobile County
Alabama, USA 

Elliott began his life near Evergreen in 1888 and moved into the Red Level area later. Son of Edmond (Ed) Mancill and Rosetta Elvira Dillard. 

name: Elliott D Mancill
event: Draft Registration
registration date year range: 1917-1918
event place: Conecuh County, Alabama, United States
gender: Male
birth date: 14 Sep 1889
birthplace: Herbert, Alabama, United States
country of citizenship: United States
nara publication title: World War I Selective Service System Draft Registration Cards
nara publication number: M1509
film number: 1509373
digital folder number: 005146822
image number: 01640
Citing this Record”United States, World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918,” index and images, FamilySearch (https://familysearch.org/pal:/MM9.1.1/K3P6-G44 : accessed 11 Feb 2013), Elliott D Mancill, .

Father of Louis “Lou” Clifford (my Dad), Floyd Edmond, John Elliott, Gerald Winfred, Willie Hubert, Glenn Allen, Emma Laura, and Annie Lee Mancill.

Church of Christ Preacher for seventy seven (77) years. He was a good and Godly man. He loved to joke around. Resided in Mobile, Alabama in 1970.

ELLIOTT WAS A PREACHER, A TEACHER, A WRITER, AND A FARMER. HIS FATHER SPELLED HIS GIVEN NAME–ELYOT DEVOSIOS MANCIL. IT MAY BE THE FRENCH SPELLING OF ELLIOT’S NAME.

Elliott was my Dad’s father, and he wrote a Family Book about the MANCILL family. I have a copy of it somewhere. A lot of the info. that I have on the Mancill family came from him. He was a very smart man. He could fix just about anything, like my Dad. 
 
Family links: 
 Parents:
  Edmond Mancill (1854 – 1941)
  Rosetta Elvira Dillard Mancill (1849 – 1927)
 
 Spouse:
  Cora Lee Wilson Mancill (1893 – 1971)

Elliott Devocious Mancill married Cora Lee Wilson on May 12, 1914 in Blacksher, Baldwin County, Alabama.  They had eleven children together, ten boys and one girl.
 
 Children:
  Annie Lee Mancill Horan (1918 – 1987)
  Floyd Edmund Mancill (1921 – 2003)
  Emma Laura Mancill Matuk (1922 – 1988)
  Louis Clifford Mancill (1924 – 2002) 

Burial:
Pine Crest Cemetery 
Mobile
Mobile County
Alabama, USA

Created by: TEXAS TUDORS
Record added: Mar 02, 2008 
Find A Grave Memorial# 24993426

Elliott Devocious Mancill, age 90, Alabama, about 1980

14 Comments

  1. Congratulations on having one of the most sophisticated blogs Ive arrive across in some time! Its just incredible how very much you can take away from anything simply because of how visually beautiful it is. Youve put with each other a fantastic weblog space great graphics, videos, layout. This is absolutely a must-see weblog!

    Like

  2. Hi, Sally, it was quite a surprise for me to find your site. My great grandmother was Elliott’s older sister, Essie. I remember visiting with “Uncle Elliott” as a child, he was a dear, sweet man. When I was in high school, he made plans with Essie for the two to visit New York City… He was 82, she was 84 or 85, as I recall, and the two were going by themselves because neither had ever visited before. We all were apprehensive, due to their advanced age, but they both were very sharp and had an endless sense of adventure. Everything went well and they both had a fabulous time!

    Do you recall meeting Uncle Gillis? He was deaf since birth, but we, as children, could never sneak up on him… He would “hear” us every time! I was inspired to learn some sign language.

    Not sure your source of information regarding Essie, but I hope you can correct it. My great grandmother, born in 1888, married William Thomas, and had several children. Those who survived were Mildred (my grandmother), Andrew, and Phillip. Your site reports her husband to be “Sellers” but I have no clue who that could have been. I recall meeting her other siblings also, Annie, Minnie.

    Until I found your site, I did not understand who Cora Lee was. Very often my grandmother (Mildred) spoke of Cora Lee… Apparently they were kindred spirits and enjoyed spending time together.

    Thanks for a beautiful site. It was a pleasure reading about Uncle Elliott and seeing his picture was really a treat for me.

    Thanks again…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am glad that you enjoyed my blog. My info. on Essie came from Elliott’s book, the census records, and marriage and death records. I never met Gillis but I have chatted with his daughter-in-law, Janice Katz Mancill, who lives in Chicago, Illinois. I met Cora Lee Mancill once in 1970, when we went to help her and Elliott clean up after Hurricane Camille in Mobile, Alabama. I have not found any record of a Mr. Thomas married to Essie. According to records she married Cecil Sellers in 1927. Would you send me some info. on the Thomas that married Essie? I will research it further though. I do volunteer posting and indexing for FamilySearch website too. Thanks for visiting.

      Like

    2. Dear Susan, I did a LOT of research on the family and unlinked Cecil Sellers from Essie’s husband. Essie Lee married Cecil, but I also edited Essie Mae Mancill Thomas on the FamilySearch website too. Thanks again for the info. I am still researching who Essie Lee Mancill was that married Cecil Sellers. A genealogist’s work is never done.

      Like

      1. Thanks so much! My great grandmother, Essie, was a wonderful woman. We called her “Big Mama”, because she was a tall, large and formidable woman. Though she was stern with her house rules, she had a marvelous sense of humor and laughed often. All of the Mancills’ I knew were sweet, pleasant and of strong moral character. Again, all of your assistance with your research is much appreciated!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

