LOUIS CLIFFORD MANCILL HISTORY POST #10

I STARTED GOING TO CHURCH WITH MOTHER AND DADDY AND MET MYRTLE ELDER AT THE CHURCH. SHE WAS A GOOD FAITHFUL CHRISTIAN AND WE STARTED DATING AFTER CHURCH AND WOULD GO TO THE SHOWS TOGETHER. SHE WAS TEN YEARS OLDER THAN ME BUT THAT DIDN’T BOTHER ME. ROZELLA WAS ALSO TEN YEARS OLDER. MYRTLE AND HER MOTHER OWNED AND LIVED IN A SMALL THREE ROOM HOUSE ON HOUSTON AVE. IN MOBILE, ALABAMA. IT HAD A LIVING ROOM, BED ROOM AND A SMALL KITCHEN BETWEEN THEM. HER MOTHER WORKED DOWN TOWN IN A DEPARTMENT STORE AND MYRTLE WORKED IN A BEAUTY SHOP ON HOUSTON AVE. EIGHT BLOCKS FROM HER HOUSE.

WE MADE PLANS TO GET MARRIED AND I STARTED TO BUILD A LARGER HOUSE RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE SMALL ONE ON THE SAME LOT. DADDY HELPED ME AND WE SOON HAD IT FRAMED AND CLOSED IN ON THE OUTSIDE.  I LOST MY JOB SO I WORKED ON THE HOUSE MOST OF THE TIME. I HAD IT SEALED ALMOST INSIDE WITH SHEETROCK AND IN 1948 MYRTLE AND I WERE MARRIED AND MOVED INTO THE NEW HOUSE. I WAS 24 YEARS OLD WHEN I GOT MARRIED. I SOON FOUND OUT IT WHAT A MISTAKE IT WAS.

I GUESS I THOUGHT I COULD HELP MYRTLE AND HER MOTHER BY BUILDING THE HOUSE. I WAS WRONG IN BOTH WAYS AND IT DIDN’T TAKE LONG TO FIND THIS OUT. I WAS DIGGING A WHOLE FOR A SEPTIC TANK TO GIVE US A BATH ROOM INSIDE WHEN HER MOTHER TOLD ME I NEEDED TO MOVE OUT OF THE HOUSE THERE WASN’T ROOM FOR BOTH OF US. UP TO THAT TIME WE ALL GOT ALONG GOOD TOGETHER. THAT HIT ME HARD SO I MOVED OUT.

CARLES SUBBLES FATHER OWNED A FARM ACROSS THE ROAD AND 1/4 MILE DOWN FROM ANNIE LEE AND HARLOWS. CARLES HAD TWO BROTHERS AND ONE SISTER. HARLOW’S FATHER DIED AND HE SOLD HIS PART OF THE FARM TO CARLES. THEY GAVE ME A JOB, ROOM AND BOARD AND PAID ME 20 DOLLARS A WEEK. I ROOMED IN THE SAME LITTLE HOUSE AS BEFORE WHEN I WORKED FOR HARLOW. I SLEPT ON SACKS THAT WE PUT POTATOES IN WHEN WE HARVEST THEM. THEY ALSO GAVE ME AN ACRE OF POTATOES AND I GOT ENOUGH MONEY TO PAY THE DOCTOR AND HOSPITAL BILL WHEN CARL LOUIS WAS BORN OUR FIRST CHILD. MYRTLE STILL STAYED WITH HER MOTHER IN MOBILE AND CARL WAS BORN IN THE HOSPITAL IN MOBILE.

I WORKED FOR CARLES THE SUMMER OF 1948 AND ALL OF THE SAME GROUP OF BOYS IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD WERE TOGETHER A LOT. ONE OF THE TRACTORS THAT CARLES AND HIS DAD HAD WAS A FARMALL-H TRACTOR AND IT WOULD RUN ABOUT TWENTY MILES PER HOUR. WE WENT TO THE SWIMMING HOLE ON IT AND GLENN WAS WITH US. I WAS DRIVING AND WE WERE GOING DOWN HILL ON THE DIRT ROAD ON THE WAY HOME, WHEN WE HIT A BUMP IN THE ROAD AND GLENN FELL OFF IN FRONT OF ONE OF THE BIG WHEELS. I PUT ON BRAKES AND LOCKED THE WHEELS BUT WAS SLIDING ON THE ROAD. GLENN WAS SLIDING TOO. THE TRACTOR AND GLENN STOPPED AT THE SAME TIME. WE WERE LUCKY THAT HE WAS ONLY SCRATCHED ON HIS ARM AND LEG. WE WERE ALL LUCKY NOT TO GET HURT MORE THEN WE DID WITH ALL THE THINGS WE DID. WE WOULD TRY ANYTHING.

AFTER THE SUMMER WAS OVER CARLES DIDN’T NEED ME ANY MORE SO I GOT A JOB ON THE KENNEDY FARM IN SUMMERDALE, ALABAMA DRIVING A TRACTOR FOR FIFTY CENTS AN HOUR WITH A HOUSE TO LIVE IN. HIS FARM WAS RIGHT ACROSS THE ROAD FROM OUR OLD FARM. MR. KENNEDY HAD BOUGHT THE OLD PLACE AND THE HOUSE WAS GONE. THE HOUSE HE GAVE ME TO LIVE IN WAS IN TOWN,  JUST ACROSS THE RAILROAD TRACKS FROM HIS PACKING SHED, RIGHT BY THE TRACKS. I THINK I WORKED FOR HIM AT THE PACKING SHED BEFORE I WORKED ON HIS FARM, SACKING POTATOES WHEN THEY CAME OFF OF THE GRADER. WHEN I GOT THE JOB AND THE HOUSE IN SUMMERDALE, ALABAMA, MYRTLE AND CARL CAME AND WE LIVED TOGETHER THERE. THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN 1949.

I REMEMBER THE TRAIN ENGINE BECAUSE EVERY NIGHT THEY WOULD PARK IT RIGHT IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE ABOUT TWO O’CLOCK IN THE MORNING. WHILE IT WAS THERE, THE WATER PUMP ON IT WOULD START UP EVERY FOUR OR FIVE MINUTES AND KEEP ME AWAKE SOMETIME FOR HOURS. I ASKED THEM TO PARK IT DOWN THE TRACK SOME BUT THEY WOULDN’T DO IT AND I GOT USED TO IT AFTER A WHILE.

THE HOUSE THERE WAS TWO STORY WITH A LIVING ROOM, KITCHEN AND A BED ROOM DOWN STAIRS AND ONE BED ROOM UPSTAIRS. THE PROPANE WAS FURNISHED TO COOK AND HEAT THE HOUSE WITH. THERE WAS NO A/C JUST A FAN I PUT IN THE WINDOW.

I BOUGHT A 1947 HARLEY-DAVIDSON MOTORCYCLE AND THAT WAS THE WAY WE GOT AROUND. I WOULD SIT CARL IN A CARDBOARD BOX BETWEEN MY LEGS ON THE GAS TANK AND AWAY WE WOULD GO TO CHURCH AT FAIRHOPE, ALABAMA FOURTEEN MILES AWAY AND TO MOBILE FOR MYRTLE TO SEE HER MOTHER, AND I WENT TO SEE MY MOTHER. I STAYED AWAY FROM HERS.

 

 

GERALD WAS GOING TO COLLEGE AT AUBURN, ALABAMA, AND HE NEEDED TO GET HIS BOOKS AND CAR HOME FOR THE SUMMER. THE CAR HAD A FLAT CRANKSHAFT ON ONE OF THE RODS AND IT KNOCKED BAD. WE WENT THERE ON MY 1947 MOTORCYCLE AND WHILE GERALD LOADED THE CAR WITH HIS THINGS I WORKED ON THE CAR TO FIX THE BEARING BY FILING THE ROD DOWN SO IT WOULD BE TIGHT ON THE SHAFT. THIS WOULD ONLY FIX IT TEMPORARILY TILL WE GOT IT HOME, MAYBE. WE ALSO TIED THE MOTORCYCLE ON THE BACK OF THE CAR. WE SURE HAD A LOAD ON IT. THE FRONT WHEELS WERE ALMOST OFF THE GROUND. SO WE STARTED HOME AND I WAS DRIVING ABOUT FORTY MILES AN HOUR.  WE GOT TO THE OLD SPANISH FORT, [ABOUT THIRTY MILES FROM MOTHERS], AND I TOOK THE MOTORCYCLE OFF TO GO ON TO SUMMERDALE, ALABAMA AND HOME. GERALD STARTED ON TO MOTHERS AND HE SAID,[LATER] THAT THE CAR SOUNDED GOOD AND IT WAS LATE SO HE WAS GOING DOWN THE LONG HILL JUST AFTER HE LEFT ME AND HE LET THE CAR GO FASTER. ALL AT ONCE THE ROD CAME LOOSE AND THE ENGINE STOPPED. HE HAD TO CALL DADDY TO COME TOW HIM HOME. I DIDN’T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT IT TILL THE NEXT DAY.

 

 

ONE TIME GERALD AND I WERE AT JOHN’S (JOHN ELLIOTT), WHEN HE LIVED ON ALBA BEACH, JUST ON THE NORTH SIDE OF DOG RIVER , DUCK HUNTING. WE WERE ON THE BEACH ABOUT A 1/4 MILE FROM JOHNS. GERALD AND I WERE ABOUT ONE HUNDRED YARDS APART. GERALD WAS STANDING ON A LARGE LOG WITH THE GUN BUTT ON HIS RIGHT FOOT AND THE TOP OF THE BARREL OF THE GUN IN THE PALM OF HIS RIGHT HAND. THE GUN WAS AN OLD SINGLE BARREL WITH THE HAMMER ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE GUN. THE GUN SLIPPED OFF HIS FOOT AND DOWN THE SIDE OF THE LOG AND HUNG THE HAMMER ON THE LOG AND WENT OFF. IT TOOK OFF HIS RIGHT THUMB AND TWENTY FIVE OF THE BEE-BEES IN THE RIGHT SIDE OF HIS HEAD. I HEARD HIM SCREAM AND I CAME RUNNING TO WHERE HE WAS AND SAW WHAT HAD HAPPENED. I SHOULD NOT HAVE LEFT HIM BUT I THOUGHT THE RIGHT THING TO DO WAS GO GET THE CAR AND COME GET HIM. I RAN TO JOHNS AFTER THE CAR AND HAD TO GO AROUND AND COME IN A ROAD TO WHERE HE WAS. WHEN I GOT THERE HE WAS GONE. I KNEW I SHOULD HAVE STAYED WITH HIM AND CARRY HIM OUT. I GOT THE CAR STUCK IN THE SAND TRYING TO FIND HIM SO I LEFT THE CAR AND WENT TO JOHNS AND THE NEIGHBOR HAD TAKEN HIM TO THE HOSPITAL. I BLAMED MYSELF FOR THE WHOLE THING AND WISH I HAD NOT ASKED HIM TO GO HUNTING THAT DAY. THERE IS A LOT OF THINGS IN LIFE WE WISH WE COULD DO OVER OR CHANGE IF NOT FOR OURSELVES BUT TO SAVE OTHERS.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

